I wrote this poem for my old friend, Irene:

Happy Birthday, Irene

by Rebecca Strecker

04/14/10

We were friends since we were schoolgirls

attending Junior High.

Now we are in our sixties.

The years are flying by.

§

We both married, you had children

who are grown or nearly so.

I went to California,.

You decided not to go.

§

Through all the miles and decades

we always stayed in touch.

We giggled at old stories:

This and that and such and such.

§

Somehow whenever we talk

it’s like nothing has changed.

Even though our lives took different paths,

were completely rearranged.

§

You have become my touchstone.

Ever close and always there.

Who knows where I have come from,

and reminds me to take care.

§

I wish you every goodness,

every pleasure life can hold.

And while the years may pile up,

may your heart never grow old.

§

I think of you most fondly,

especially today.

May our friendship greet tomorrow

stronger for our yesterdays.

